Verkhovna Rada

Lawmakers vote on land sale reform during a session of the Ukrainian parliament in Kyiv on Nov. 13, 2019. The lawmakers passed a bill lifting the ban on buying and selling farmland in its first reading. It received 240 votes, more than the 226 required to pass.

Photo by Kostyantyn Chernichkin

The new (ninth) convocation of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (VRU) began its term in late August. At their first meeting, the MPs formed factions (groups). The new parliament has six of them: the Servant of the People, Opposition Platform – For Life, Batkivschyna, European Solidarity, Holos and the parliamentary group For the Future. Altogether they include 389 MPs. 33 people’s deputies are non-affiliated with any faction.

Read more here.

Source link